August 23, 2004

PRESENT: Ed LeBlanc, Keith Harris, Jim Trask, Chris L’Heureux,


OTHERS PRESENT: Jim Roberts, M, Souliere, E, McLaughlin, Roz Anton

Selectman Ed LeBlanc declared the meeting open at 19:00




1. Mike Souliere states that he is almost done the Hight Road work, he has some more ditching to do and Dayton Sand still needs to do some shouldering.

2. Jim Trask stated that he is still working with Maine Municipal re the Workers Comp Policy, He states that Maine Municipal is working with Mike Garrity (Union 7 Maintenance Supervisor) on this to get it cleared up. Jim will contact Maine Municipal and clear up the past due invoices they keep sending.


1. Roz Anton was in to represent Evan McLaughlin re the North Smith Road, or formerly known as the Steel Road, they need to know if it was ever discontinued or abandoned by the Town. It was determined by the Selectmen that in their opinion as they can tell by the Towns records that the road has been abandoned by the Town of Dayton by lack of maintenance for more than 30 years by the Town of Dayton as per the definition of Abandonment per Maine Municipal Association, Roz Anton was told she may come in to Town Hall and review the Town Warrant to see if she can find any evidence the disprove this.

2. Ed LeBlanc told Mike Souliere that the tar breaking up near the Paradis residence needs to be patched ASAP; Mike said he will get it done in the next couple of days.

3. Lengthy discussion was held re the Town Transfer Station on the cost it is costing the Town Motion by Jim Trask 2nd by Keith Harris to increase Dump permit fee’s from the current $5 per 3 cubic yard card to $15 with one card a year. All other fees are set by BBI. Starting September 1 2004. Passed 3/0

4. Jim Roberts states that the Comprehensive Plan Committee needs a letter from the Selectmen as to the reasons the Town hall doesn’t meet the Towns needs. Ed LeBlanc states that he will do that and get it to the Comprehensive plan in the next week or so.


1. Selectmen’s Minutes from 8/16/04

2. Bills received since last Warrant

3. Warrant #4


1. None


Motion by Keith Harris and seconded by Ed Leblanc to adjourn at 20:30

*Minutes may not be verbatim they may have been paraphrased for clarity.


_________________________Ed LeBlanc (Chairperson)

_________________________Keith Harris

_________________________Jim Trask